Your search results

Posted by admin on Thursday August 20th, 2015
| 0

Madagascar, the land of ancestors

The Malagasy people are a people who respect the tradition. This tradition means that one honors one’s elders and ancestors. During your stay in Madagascar, you will discover a unique, rich and attractive culture.
The art of speaking
In Madagascar, speaking in public is an art. On the island, there are even schools to train speakers. At the slightest opportunity, whether during a wedding, engagement or mourning, the eldest of the family must speak, following certain pre-established rules, while using imaginative and subtle expressions. At the beginning of his speech, the speaker must first ask the audience if he can speak, apologize since he is not the oldest and it is only after this short introduction of a few minutes he will thank everyone present at the event. In general, a speaker can take ten minutes or more if he is a great speaker.
The turning of the dead
In the highlands, in the South as in the North, the turning of the dead is a practice common to all ethnic groups. It is on this occasion that the living show that they take care of their ancestors, so that in turn they give them: health prosperity and happiness. It is also during the turn of the dead that the whole family meets and celebrates, while asking thanks to their ancestors.
Some rules and uses
In general, especially in cities, politeness is the same as in the West: thanks and systematic greetings, handshakes … But sometimes a shake of the head and a franc smile are enough and the Malagasy are generous in the matter!
As with any human relationship, obedience and respect for the elderly and senior are important. If you visit a village, it is customary to go first to greet the village chief or the president of the “Fokontany”.
Respect nature wherever you are and leave the places you have visited clean. Buying and transporting animals (turtles, chameleons, …) is strictly forbidden.
Bargaining is common practice: always negotiate a departing service and pay after.
Tipping is not obligatory but very appreciated.
Some regions have certain “fady” (forbidden) that must be respected before starting the visit. But these are very localized and rather precise: do not carry pork after such a limit, do not go past such stone, do not point your finger on such a place … We will inform you about these fady to respect en route .

Translate »

Your search results

Posted by admin on jeudi 20 août 2015
| 0

Madagascar, la terre des ancêtres

divertissement
Les Malgaches sont un peuple qui respecte la tradition. Cette tradition veut que l’on honore ses ainés et ses ancêtres. Vous ferez pendant votre séjour à Madagascar, la découverte d’une culture unique, riche et attractive.
L’art de prendre la parole
A Madagascar, prendre la parole en public est tout un art. Sur l’île, il existe même des écoles pour former des orateurs. A la moindre occasion, que ce soit lors d’un mariage, de fiançailles ou d’un deuil, l’ainé de la famille se doit de prendre la parole, en suivant certaines règles préétablies, tout en utilisant des expressions imagées et subtiles. Au début de son discours, celui qui prend la parole doit tout d’abord, demander à l’assistance s’il peut prendre la parole, s’excuser puisqu’il n’est pas le plus âgé et ce n’est qu’après cette petite introduction de quelques minutes qu’il va remercier toutes les personnes présentes à l’évènement. En général, une prise de parole peut prendre une dizaine de minutes et plus si c’est un grand orateur.
Le retournement des morts
Sur les hauts plateaux, dans le Sud comme dans le Nord, le retournement des morts est une pratique commune à toutes les ethnies. C’est à cette occasion que les vivants montrent qu’ils prennent soin de leurs ancêtres, pour qu’à leur tour ces derniers leurs donnent : santé prospérité et bonheur. C’est aussi pendant le retournement des morts que toute la famille se réunit et fait la fête, tout en demandant grâce à leurs ancêtres.
Quelques règles et usages
En général, particulièrement dans les villes, les usages de politesse sont les mêmes qu’en occident: remerciements et salutations systématiques, poignées de main… Mais parfois un hochement de tête et un sourire franc suffisent et les malgaches sont généreux en la matière!
Comme dans toute relation humaine, l’obéissance et le respect des personnes âgées et de rang supérieur sont importants. Si vous visitez un village, il est d’usage d’aller saluer d’abord le chef du village ou le président du « Fokontany ».
Respectez la nature où que vous vous trouvez et laissez propres les endroits que vous avez visité. Acheter et transporter des animaux (tortues, caméléons, …) est formellement interdit.
Le marchandage est pratique courante: négociez toujours un service au départ et payez après.
Le pourboire n’est pas obligatoire mais très apprécié.
Certaines régions ont certains « fady » (interdits) qu’il faut respecter avant d’entreprendre la visite. Mais ceux-ci étant très localisés et plutôt précis: ne pas emporter de viande de porc après telle limite, ne pas passer devant telle pierre, ne pas pointer son doigt sur tel lieu… Nous vous renseignerons sur ces fady à respecter en cours de route.

Translate »